BREAKING NEWS

IN FOCUS

Gray wolves

Court Agreement: Washington Will Give Public Notice Before Killing Wolves

Eight-hour Warning Could Permit Judge to Halt Slaughter Plans

OLYMPIA, Wash.— Washington wildlife officials will have to give eight business hours of notice before killing wolves in the state, under a new agreement reached today in Thurston County Superior Court.

Judge Chris Lanese ruled from the bench today that a challenge by the Center for Biological Diversity and Cascadia Wildlands of a kill order for the Sherman Pack in Washington was moot because the agency had already destroyed the pack. 

But Judge Lanese emphasized that the issues raised by the lawsuit were of great public importance and deserved to be fully evaluated. To that end, the judge obtained a commitment from the Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife to provide public notice before killing wolves, ensuring the conservation groups have a chance to stop any killing.

Read more.

Learn more about our work to save gray wolves.

Contact: Amaroq Weiss

LATEST 10 PRESS RELEASES

May 22, 2018 – Court: Halt on Richardson Grove Highway Project to Stay in Place

May 22, 2018 – GOP to Consider Four-lane Highway Through Utah Conservation Area, Tortoise Habitat

May 21, 2018 – Trump Opens Door to Dangerous Fracking in Northern Arizona

May 18, 2018 – Court Agreement: Washington Will Give Public Notice Before Killing Wolves

May 18, 2018 – Arizona Partnership Launched to Protect Reproductive Rights, Planet

May 17, 2018 – Farm Bill Would Allow Widespread Killing of Endangered Species Via Pesticides

May 16, 2018 – Alaskans Challenge Old-growth Timber Sale in Tongass National Forest

May 16, 2018 – Study: Marine Mammals, Sea Turtles Protected by Endangered Species Act Are Recovering

May 15, 2018 – Court: Agency Wrongly Denied Protection to Sage Grouse in California, Nevada

May 15, 2018 – Legal Petition Challenges Trump Administration's Rollback of Tailpipe Pollution Standards

 

+ PRESS RELEASE ARCHIVES

THE CENTER IN THE NEWS

PERSPECTIVES AND OP-EDS

THE CENTER ON MEDIUM

MEDIA-READY SPECIES PHOTOS

MAPS

Media Contacts:

Endangered Species: Jim Cronin, Media Specialist jcronin@biologicaldiversity.org, (503) 283-5474 ext. 411
Climate Change, Fracking, California Oil and Gas: Rebecca Fuoco, Media Specialist – rfuoco@biologicaldiversity.org, (213) 785-5400 ext. 109
Public lands, National Monuments and Borderlands: Mary K. Reinhart, Media Specialist – mkreinhart@biologicaldiversity.org, (602) 320-7309
Oceans, Offshore Drilling, Arctic: Steve Jones, Media Specialist – sjones@biologicaldiversity.org, (415) 305-3866
Pesticides, Toxics and Environmental Health: Andy Parker, Media Specialist – aparker@biologicaldiversity.org, (503) 310-5569
Population, Sustainability, Renewable Energy, Endangered Species Condoms: Jessica Herrera, Media Specialist –  jherrera@biologicaldiversity.org, (520) 345-5726

Patrick Sullivan, Deputy Communications Director, psullivan@biologicaldiversity.org, (415) 632-5316
Mike Stark, Communications Director, mstark@biologicaldiversity.org, (520) 623-5252, ext. 315
Russ McSpadden, Creative Media Specialist – Media Photos, rmcspadden@biologicaldiversity.org

Banner photo Center for Biological Diversity; photo of gray wolves by sharkhat/Flickr Creative Commons